Posted by: drjamm | May 4, 2009

Song of the reed

Listen to the reed and the tale it tells,
How it sings of separation:
Ever since they cut me from the reed bed,
my wail has caused men and women to weep.
I want a heart torn open with longing
To share the pain of this love.
Whoever has been parted from his source
Longs to return to the state of union.

– Rumi

jamm@brightheartsinging

Most of the time, I feel filled with the Goodness of my independent spiritual journey. But sometimes, like tonight, I feel raw with the missing of my Spiritual community and all I can do is sit down and have a good cry along with Rumi’s reed that laments over its separation from the reed bed.

At every gathering I play my lament.
I’m a friend to both happy and sad.
Each befriended me for his own reasons,
Yet none searched out the secrets I contain.
My secret is not different than my lament,
Yet this is not for the senses to perceive.

– Rumi

May tears, like rain, bring us a fresh, newly washed day in the morning.

**********************************************************************
*******       bright heart singing                              credits and links             *******
**********************************************************************

jamm@brightheartsingingPoem credit: Rumi’s poem, “Song of the Reed” is published in Love Is A Stranger, selected Rumi poetry by Kabir Helminski. The above excerpt came from  http://peterjcraig.gaia.com/blog/2007/5/song_of_the_reed

Photo credit – photos by jamm @ bright heart singing

bright heart singing, copyright 2009 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. Rumi is such an insight

    Separation is hard, yet the pain should be known, as it signals a kind of damage, or perhaps a loss of connection.

    And then there it is; the gift of longing, the desire to know again, the prayer to belong, the journey begun.

    Thanks for your post

  2. beautiful!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

