Posted by: drjamm | January 12, 2009

She lets them come and go

When people see some things as beautiful,
other things become ugly.
When people see some things as good,
other things become bad.

– excerpt from the Tao Te Ching, Verse 2

This verse  – and the ones that follow – remind me about how to hold the the HUGE contrasts that can appear in my life at any given time. Sometimes, I would like to simplify issues into white and black. Sometimes, I would like to feel righteous or angry about my “correct” position in the midst of turmoil. Sometimes, I would like to narrow my point of view to protect my Heart from the wear and tear of Life’s storms and wild variability. And sometimes, when I am unsteady on my feet in the present moment or fearful about the future, I am shamelessly sentimental about the “good old days.” and drift along in a rosy and unrealistic daydream. All of these personal habits of mine are my learned ways to cope with the very wide emotional and spiritual contrasts that can manifest in my day.

100_9947Being and non-being create each other.
Difficult and easy support each other.
Long and short define each other.
High and low depend on each other.
Before and after follow each other.
..

– excerpt from the Tao Te Ching, Verse 2

Lately, I feel like I have developed some spiritual “muscle” from years of trying to “hold” and fathom how BIG and COMPLEX this world of human relationships can be. Now, when I feel the urge to “simplify” a complex and scary situation, I try to follow the advice of my very wise yoga teacher and “offer my heart up” — become more Vibrant in my Self — and just try to be Present in the daunting swirl of human energy. To overcome the feeling of drowning, I try to use my Heart’s Vibrancy as a floatation device to get me through until calmer times arrive.

jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Things arise and she lets them come;
things disappear and she lets them go.

– excerpt from the Tao Te Ching, Verse 2)

I know from past experience that the temptation to cling to black and white thinking and make simplified judgments can be almost irresistible. Rather than limit my focus and become more rigid in my thinking when hard times hit, I hope this growing sensation of building “spiritual muscle” will help me remember to choose to be Vibrant and wider in my vision so that I may let things come and go as they should.

May you find the big and complex matters in Life help you grow more vibrant, present, and ever more guided by She-Who-Let-Things-Come-and-Go. Namaste.

Credits and links:

Quote credit: You can read the entire – Tao Te Ching, Verse 2 – that I quote above at Soul Solutions Healing website: http://soulsolutionshealing.gaia.com/blog

Image credit: I found the beautiful Golden Goddess image above at the Arunachalasamudra  website:http://www.arunachalasamudra.org/goldengoddess.jpg

Photo credit: Photos by jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

bright heart singing, copyright 2009 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

