Posted by: drjamm | January 8, 2009

new beginning

In out-of-the-way places of the heart,
where your thoughts never think to wander,
this beginning has been quietly forming,
waiting until you were ready to emerge…

(excerpt from: For a new beginning, by John O’Donohue)

jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

It’s the beginning of January 2009 and a new teaching term starts. I have my daily planner open an I am starting to pencil in all my “to do’s” for this term. I always have to practice deep breathing when I do this planning job because all those commitments can start to look overwhelming. The shear number of “to dos” make me increasingly anxious and I can find my self literally dizzy at the thought of my schedule.

While living my everyday life, I want to be sure to be faithful to the needs of my Soul and schedule in contemplative time each day. I want to remember to choose one or more of my favourite forms of contemplation each day: a walk, hot yoga, sufi poetry, a spiritual podcast, a church service, or soulful singing. I want to begin and end each day with prayers of thanks and gratitude. I want to be of service to others, and most especially enjoy my beautiful family. I want to be PRESENT as I mother my child. And I want to be excellent in my professional work. Wow, that’s already a full day! An overfull day, actually.

jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.comBut in spite of my overfull schedule, I have a a continual fire burning inside me to write. I can’t wait to write for brightheartsinging, for my job, or in my journal. And now, I feel compelled to write for a new project. It is still so new and I am not ready to share it here – yet – but it is insisting on coming out of my heart and head and pouring down onto the digital “page.”

How in the world can I fit all this lucious writing into a full mommy/professional day? I have to come back to common sense and dedicate myself to the many tasks one little bit at a time. My age old mantra ever since I began this blended life of family and professional work is, “slow and steady wins the race.” So I will keep my composition book with me wherever I go – just in case – and look for those moments when I can capture my thoughts in writing.

To help me out with the juggling of “to do’s,” I take heart in the words of one of my favourite poets, John O’Donohue.

…Awaken your spirit to adventure;
hold nothing back, learn to find ease in risk;
soon you will be home in a new rhythm
for your soul senses the world that awaits you.

(excerpt from: For a New Beginning)

jamm@brightheartsinging.com

New projects are unknown, awkward, gangly things that need one’s dedication and patience before they find a proper place and rhythm in the dailiness of life. So I will try to find Ease in the riskiness of bringing forward a new venture. I’ll try to find Grace as I introduce a “leggy,” unsteady, fledgling of a project. And most of all I will try to remember that a day has a finite limit to the number of hours so I will need to find Balance within that time limit. Please wish me well.

May this season find you at Ease and feeling at home in a new rhythm as you bring your new beginnings to life. Shanti, Shalom, and Peace be with you.

Credits and links:

John O'Donohue, To Bless this SpaceQuote credit: For a new beginning. by John O’Donohue, To Bless the Space Between Us: A book of blessings, p. 14.). John passed away in January, 2008. To read more about his book click his book image. You can learn more about John O’Donohue and his many publications by visiting his web page: http://www.johnodonohue.com/

Photo credit: Photos by jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

bright heart singing, copyright 2009 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. Your sheer drive to follow your impulses to be all that you are able to be is inspiring!
    May you be given the time to do so! But remember that we ARE given all the time we need – perhaps just not in only one life…
    Love, E.


Leave a Reply

Categories

