Posted by: drjamm | December 4, 2008

You are your own book

If you can know your own life and understand it, you will find the ocean of divine knowledge within you. You will find the Qur’an within you.  You are the Qur’an; you are your own book. If you can study that book and reach the state of fully ripened knowledge, then you will be able to speak of its sweetness and know peace and comfort in your life. (M. R. Bawa Muhaiyaddeen)

jamm @ brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

I am grief stricken to hear about the terror attacks in Mumbai, India last week. How can I make sense of such acts of violence? What is my personal response and responsibility in the face of such awful and tragic circumstances? My response is to offer prayers and much compassion to all families and friends who have lost a loved one. I offer my heart felt condolences to the victims of the terrorists, and, also, to the mothers, fathers, sisters, and brothers of the terrorists who died. ALL have sustained tragic losses and ALL need compassion and understanding to heal from this violence.

My responsibility is to keep in mind that the actions of these **extremists do not represent the far vast majority Muslim, Hindu, or other Religious people. At this time, as we all deal with the shock of the terror attacks, I find the only personal act of healing I can do is continue my newly begun journey into the Qur’an so I may better appreciate the Beauty, Peace, Compassion, and Justice inherent in the Muslim faith and the Qur’an. I find my solo study of the Qur’an is, alternately, mysterious and sublime. Sometimes I can immediately relate to a phrase in the Holy Text; and sometimes I feel I need to take time to sit with my incomprehension until a Light dawns or something shifts and brings with it understanding.

jamm @ brightheartsinging.wordpress.comI am grateful for M. R. Bawa Muhaiyaddeen (quoted above) as he guides us in the study of the Qur’an, “You are the Qur’an; you are your own book. If you can study that book and reach the state of fully ripened knowledge, then you will be able to speak of its sweetness and know peace and comfort in your life.” This concept that the Qur’an — and I think any Holy Text — can be understood by reaching a “fully ripened knowledge” of the Self is very familiar to me as a Unitarian because one basic UU principle is that each person should make “a free and responsible search for truth and meaning.” I love this overlap between Muhaiyaddeen’s explanation of the study of the Qur’an and my own understanding of how best to practice my Unitarian principles.

If you can know your own life and understand it, you will find the ocean of divine knowledge within you.

Tonight as I grieve the devastating aftermath of the violence in Mumbai, India, I send along my wishes that ALL people may be at liberty to make a free and responsible search for truth and meaning, trust and develop their own skills in “reading their own book,” and ultimately find their own way to the Ocean of Divine Knowledge inside their Hearts and Souls.

May all the peace, the beneficence, and the blessings of God be upon you.

Credits and links: (1) In preparing for this entry I read the following blog: The Literary Beauty of the Qur’an http://muslimmatters.org/2007/10/19/the-literary-beauty-of-the-quran/ (2) I also read Coleman Barks’ discussion of Muhammad Raheem Bawa Muhaiyaddeen’s book at http://www.bmf.org/iswp/coleman.html

51jgzmdpt6l_ss500_

Quote credit: (by Muhammad Raheem Bawa Muhaiyaddeen. Islam and World peace – Explanations of a Sufi; pp. 126-127) Coleman Barks July 24, 2002 http://www.bmf.org/iswp/coleman.html

(click on book image to read more)

Photo Credit: jamm@brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. hi late here haven’t read the whole of this blog ( quickly skimmed it) but what I will say is last time something big happened like this in india ( think it was delhi) blamed the muslim extremists.. turned out to be hindu fundmentlists in the end.. so lets wait and see what happens.. However what I wil say is murder is probably one of the worst evils. The world needs peace.

  2. Dear Majnun, You make an excellent point! I have corrected this blog and my assumption about “Muslim” extremists (see *extremists) and will update this blog in the future when it is more certain who is responsible. And “Amen” to the world needing Peace! Sincerely, Jessica


Leave a Reply

Categories

