Posted by: drjamm | October 13, 2008

Giving thanks for salmon

Today, on my walk around the Salmon Hatchery, I meditated on the remarkable journey of the salmon and their ultimate final trial as they struggle up river rapids. I witnessed salmon who might make it up one rapid, but then, slip down two, only to attempt to make it up the river all over again. For these salmon, as in my Life, progress is rarely always a successful steady forward march toward the ultimate goal, but rather involves many failed attempts, sometimes a significant degree of “back slipping,” and a constant need to dig down deep for determination and physical stamina to keep going forward. The Ultimate Goal may keep me in the river rapids always heading up river, but, in order to stay on track and keep myself healthy, my focus must remain solely focused on the one “rapid” in front of me or I could easily get caught in the “slip stream” and lose progress by being dragged down river. For me, watching the Salmon Run today was a profound lesson in Perseverance. I couldn’t imagine a better way to observe Thanksgiving Day. For all the salmon strive to achieve, for all the obstacles they overcome, for all the extraordinary effort they show in obtaining their goal, for their mere presence in our river, I am deeply thankful. Happy Thanksgiving and Blessed Be.

(click on above images to enlarge)

(bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

