Posted by: drjamm | October 9, 2008

email from God

Grandma forwarded this email from God to me today. I have a great story to tell you about it when I next get to writing a blog entry. In the meantime, enjoy….

To:            YOU
Date:         TODAY
From:         GOD
Subject:     YOURSELF
Reference:  LIFE

This is God.  Today I will be handling ALL of your problems for you.  I do NOT need your help.  So, have a nice day.
I love you.

P.S.  And, remember…
If Life happens to deliver a situation to you that you cannot handle, do NOT attempt to resolve it yourself!  Kindly put it in the SFGTD (something for God to do) box. I will get to it in MY TIME.  All situations will be resolved, but in MY time, not yours.

Once the matter is placed into the box, do not hold onto it by worrying about it.  Instead, focus on all the wonderful things that are present in your life now.

Today I got a message from a colleague that our family needs to pay $2000 to keep one of our legal permits active. Long ago, we had to shelve a project due to very very tight finances and so the permit had lapsed. To say that we don’t have the means to pay $2000 to keep a permit active, is a huge understatement. In fact, when I heard the dollar figure being asked from us, it was so far over our ability to pay, that I felt a surreal daze overcome me, “this request can’t be accommodated,” I said to myself, “it is simply beyond our financial abilities to even contemplate.” And that’s when I remembered the above email I received (via Grandma) from God this morning: “If Life happens to deliver a situation to you that you cannot handle…” Clearly, a request for $2000 fit into that category. So, after I had tried my old panic-accompanied-by-that-awful-black-pit-of-despair-in-my-stomach habit, and thoroughly disliked my return to such torment, I metaphysically picked up the problem in my hand and prepared to offer it up to God. But before I could even get my “spiritual hand” outstretched, I felt the problem being snatched — lightening quick — from my hand.

Have you ever been prepared to knock on someone’s door, but just when your hand should have connected with the door, the door was opened by the person you came to see? Remember the feeling of expecting the physical “work” of the knuckles connecting with the door, but instead your hand was suddenly moving in free space where the door used to be and you had to put on the brakes? That was the feeling I had. I was prepared for the physical exertion of offering up the problem. And I was prepared for the mental argument I would need to convince God to take this problem on. And, if I am totally truthful here, I was prepared to whine and plead if need be. But there I was, all steeled up for the the “struggle” of letting the problem go, when it was snatched out of my hand. “What?” I questioned, “That was it? Does that mean we have a deal, God?” I did not get a direct answer to my question, but I instantly felt my hand was light and empty. Soon after, my stomach transformed the “rotten pit of despair” feeling back to a relaxed and healthy feeling gut.

Is my problem taken care of? I am willing to give this email invitation from God a try. I’ll report back on the progress with this problem in a future blog entry. Wish me luck!

Credits and links:

Email icon can be found at:http://retireflorida.org/community/content/view/13/36/

(bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. What a brilliant reminder of what is so simple and true. I have felt the difference . . . between letting go and giving “whatever it is” to God . . . and really grappling with/forcing solutions. I am grateful that I “know” the difference.
    Thank you, Grandma. When I read it, it felt like a great, big, long hug.


Leave a Reply

Categories

