Posted by: drjamm | October 1, 2008

I shall not want

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want. (Psalm 23:1)

I am still thinking about the Sadasiva’s paradox (see previous post). I wonder if my redefining the word “want” to WANT (as in the thoughtless acting on impulse (e.g., “must have chocolate…”)) could help me interpret this very familiar Psalm 23 in a new way:

The lord is my Shepard, I shall not WANT. I think this Psalm is still an obvious affirmation that the Lord will take care of all basic needs and therefore the person-in-prayer need not worry about getting those needs met; in other words, it would be better use of energy to invest more in Trust than Worry. But, as a mental exercise for myself, I find I am now contemplating how a personal relationship with the Divine could assist me with refraining from doing what I WANT. How could a prayerful or other meditative practice move me from acting on impulse, to thoughtful, conscious, choosing of what I truly Like in life?

I am going to think more about this…

Credits and links: Psalm 23 quoted from the King James Bible.

(bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entire entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

