Posted by: drjamm | June 22, 2008

Not since Galileo

Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; and let them rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over the cattle and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” (Genesis 1:26

I am still thinking about our western society’s all pervasive mis-belief that we humans are at the top of the food chain — the height of evolution — the Conscious Ones. I found myself imagining our descendants looking back to this era of belief in “human dominance” and I wondered if history would record our serious detour into this belief in supremacy over all species in the same light that we now regard the pre-Galileo belief that the Earth was the centre of the Universe.

Our future teachers might say in a classroom: “Back then, people used to believe and act like humans were the supreme species with the right to have power over all other species.”

And the children of that future day would say, “I can’t believe it, everyone knows that all species are linked together and need each other to survive. How can one species have dominance over all others?” They would say this in the same tone our children-of-today use when they say, “I can’t believe it, everyone knows that the Earth revolves around the sun and not the Sun around the Earth.”

The teacher might well say that not since Galileo was there this form of ego-centric error that had such profound influences on how our ancestors viewed and acted in the world.

I found imagining this scenerio inspired me to further shuck off remnants of my own ego-centric view of my place in the world. My new goal is increasingly to belong to an Enlightened Future where my every behaviour, thought, and emotion is informed by the sure knowledge that I have a Right Place in the Web of Life. I look forward to the Abundant Joy that fills me as I am able to increasingly live in my Right Place.

May it be so.

Namaste and Blessed Be.

Credits and links: http://theatheisthandbook.blogspot.com/2007/06/killing-mind-of-child.html

(bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

