Posted by: drjamm | June 2, 2008

out of the mouth of babes

Today my 10-year old daughter, Emily asked me if I was excited about going to Eliot, Naramata. I said I was more nervous than excited because I was worried about what to do for the worship job I had been asked to do. She was frankly astonished that I would have any worries at all.

Emily said, “Mama, you read Hafiz every night. You have the perfect experience for worship. Hafiz is the same thing as worship. Just read a Hafiz poem every worship. It’ll be easy.”

It is true. Emily has watched me read from “The Gift” many nights — especially this winter. I love reading Sufi poetry, and most especially the work of Hafiz, because I feel not only simultaneously validated in my relationship with the Divine, but also, sometimes “shocked” out of a “stale-for-me” or conventional mode of relating to the Divine.

Sufi poetry, for me, embodies the constant yearning for communion while at the same time capturing and savouring the occasional momentary bliss of Perfect Communion with the All That Is. Perhaps Emily is right. Hafiz is worship — they represent the same thing. Out of the mouth of babes…

Here is a quote from Hafiz, She Responded

I once asked a bird,
“How is it that you fly in this gravity
Of darkness?”
She responded,
“Love lifts
Me.”

A quote from Amazon.ca: “In The Gift, Daniel Ladinsky bestows on us the impassioned yet whimsical strains of Hafiz’s ecstasy.”

http://www.amazon.ca/Gift-Daniel-Ladinsky/dp/0140195815/ref=pd_bbs_6?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1214031244&sr=8-6

(bright heart singing, copyright 2008 – jamm. Creative commons attribution, non-commercial sharing only (translation: feel free to quote me in context or use this entry but please always credit me for my work, thanks.) https://brightheartsinging.wordpress.com

Responses

  1. I hope it went well..


Leave a Reply

Categories

